Lesson, Pain, and Broken Things

If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it.

If there is one thing I learn from 2014, is to fix something before it completely breaks.

I realized that I couldn’t apply ‘If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it’ philosophy all my life. Well, I could, but it would not be wise to. 

Sometimes, something needs to completely break in order to be fixed. Because only when it breaks and you feel the pain that you also feel the need to repair it.

There were many broken things scattered from January to December. Bones, relationships, shattered into tiny little pieces, each pierced your skin open and some wounded you from inside.

And there were pain. Excruciating pain. The kind of pain so intense it left you numb afterwards.

But pain still exists throughout human evolution because it serves one thing, it warns us about a threat, a danger, an alien body, that something is not right.

And things are broken because they need to be fixed.

I fixed my things and moved on. I left the pain behind, but take the lesson with me.

Fix things before they were broken. It saves you from all the pain.

Leave a Reply

